Leave a comment

My first trip to Washington, D.C.

This trip was a real eye opener for me.  I know that when I moved to California, it blew my mind thinking how close Vegas, LA, Malibu, San Diego, etc. were, not to mention things like Death Valley.  So this move is no different.  Washington DC is only one and a half hours away!  Crazy!  So David and I decided this morning (not too terribly early in the day) to go to DC, take the Metro in to the city, go to the Natural History Museum, eat a falafel, and come home.  I was a little hesitant at first.  I was thinking why don’t we plan this a little better, go early one morning, and make a whole day of it.  But then I realized . . . it is close enough go whenever we want!  How cool is that?  So here’s to getting used to have new things to explore that are close enough to do just that!

I guess David and I need to get used to checking the news before going to DC, because we kind of forgot about the Presidential Inauguration being the next day.  The place was completely covered up with news crews from all over the country and street vendors selling all kinds of memorabilia.

I guess David and I need to get used to checking the news before going to DC, because we kind of forgot about the Presidential Inauguration being the next day. The place was completely covered up with news crews from all over the country and street vendors selling all kinds of memorabilia.

Natural History Museum

Natural History Museum

Stair well at the Natural History Museum

Stair well at the Natural History Museum

The three-story escalator that gave me vertigo!

The three-story escalator that gave me vertigo!

Such pretty colors!

Such pretty colors!

The New Amsterdam Falafel Shop.  It was my first, but not my last!  yummy!

The New Amsterdam Falafel Shop. It was my first, but not my last! yummy!

I didn’t realize what setting my camera was on when I took these pictures, but it took a little video with each shot.  Kind of a neat montage of what we saw in DC today.

Leave a Reply

