Leave a comment

Turnpike Troubadours at Hill Country Barbecue

Washington DC would not be the first city that would come out of my mouth when asked where have I had good BBQ.  No offense, but it just wouldn’t.  Well, this meal has changed my mind.  I don’t know if it was the BBQ itself or the whole experience of eating the BBQ.  The best way I can explain Hill Country Barbecue is this . . . Imagine Luby’s cafeteria, but for BBQ.  Genius!  You are seated at a table and given this meal ticket. Meal Ticket - Picture #1Meal Ticket - Picture #2

You take your meal ticket up to the counter and you order what you want.  The menu is absolutely great; basic, simple, nothing fussy, just good food.  The staff behind the counter start gathering up what you ordered, which should be a little bit of everything, placing it all on a huge piece of butcher paper.  Everything that you order is weighed and marked down on your meal ticket.  So you pay for what you order and you get exactly what you want, because the whole menu is al acarte!  Again, genius!  Then they ask you if you want white bread to go with your meal.  Really?  Who wouldn’t want some great Texas sized slices of white bread to go with amazing BBQ?  I actually asked the guy if people actually said no.  He said I would be surprised . . . Oh well.  More for the rest of us, right?  Once you have all of your meat selections, you toddle on over to the sides section and the same process begins again.  You tell them what you want and how much you want, your ticket is marked, and off you go to stuff your face.

Now I don’t know about you, but I love to people watch, and a BBQ restaurant in DC does not disappoint.  There were people dressed in boots and cowboy shirts, ladies in cute work dresses, and men in suits.  Now the men in suits really need some basic instruction on how to eat BBQ, because coat on and tie hanging down is not the way to do it, and a sure fire way to insure that your suit at minimum is due a trip to the dry cleaners.  But us Southerners know to roll up our sleeves, dig in and don’t even bother wiping our faces clean till the plate in front of us is cleaner.IMG_1009

So now on to the show.  This was by far my favorite show that I have ever seen.  I know that David has been to small venues like this one, where you can literally reach out, not even up but out, and touch the band.  I think the capacity sign in the place said 200 people, which for a music venue is on the smaller side.

IMG_1011

IMG_1013

IMG_1015

I don’t know how long David and I looked at the backdrop before we realized that it is a Texas state flag.  My mama may disown me for that one!

IMG_1017

IMG_1019

IMG_1023

IMG_1026

Set list for the night, full of all of our favorites!

IMG_1032

IMG_1035

Please excuse the non-music related picture I had to insert into here.  I just thought, as strange as this sounds, that this was a really interesting and pretty shot.  So I took it.

IMG_1046

IMG_1044

If you have not heard of Turnpike Troubadours, I highly recommend them!  And if you are from the Shreveport/Bossier City area, they actually have a couple songs singing about them.  So check the Turnpike Troubadours website for a sample or two.  You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

